CEDAR CITY — Six candidates have filed notice to replace the late Republican Sen. Dennis Stowell, including his widow.

The six are Casey Anderson, Peter Greathouse, Keith Harrison, Allen G. Smith, Marilee A. Stowell and Evan J. Vickers. Senate District 28 covers Beaver, Garfield, Iron, Kane and Millard counties and eastern Washington County. The term expires January 2013.

A special caucus meeting will be held Saturday, May 14 at 6 p.m. at the Hunter Conference Center at Southern Utah University. Registration opens at 4:30 p.m.

Stowell, of Parowan, died April 17 from complications related to cancer.

Candidate contact information can be found at utahgop.org.

E-mail: romboy@desnews.com