ESPN analyst Jay Williams breaks down his current choice for the National Player of the Year award. Williams, who played at Duke, was the 2002 National Player of the Year award winner. Here's why he picks "The Jimmer" at this point in the season to win the award in his latest video blog.

In addition to Williams, ESPN analyst Andy Katz makes his case as to why he thinks Jimmer could win Player of the Year. "As sensational as Walker and Sullinger have been, as much as Kyrie Irving’s toe injury was and is a storyline at Duke and throughout the sport, as much as Michigan State’s implosion and Bruce Pearl’s suspension have been constant subplots, the face of the sport right now is unquestionably Jimmer Fredette." said Katz.

If Fredete does win National Player of the Year he'll be amongst great company. Here's a look back at some of the previous winners.

2010. Evan Turner - Ohio State

2009. Blake Griffin - Oklahoma

2008. Tyler Hansbrough - North Carolina

2007. Kevin Durant - Texas

2006. J.J. Redick - Duke

2005. Andrew Bogut - Utah

2004. Jameer Nelson - Saint Joseph’s

2003. T.J. Ford - Texas

2002. Jason Williams - Duke

2001. Shane Battier - Duke

3 comments on this story

2000. Kenyon Martin - Cincinnati

1999. Elton Brand - Duke

1998. Antawn Jamison - North Carolina

1997. Tim Duncan - Wake Forest

1996. Marcus Camby - UMass

1995. Joe Smith - Maryland

1994. Glenn Robinson - Purdue

1993. Calbert Cheaney - Indiana

1992. Christian Laettner - Duke

1991. Larry Johnson - UNLV

1990. Lionel Simmons - LaSalle

1989. Danny Ferry - Duke

1988. Danny Manning - Kansas

1987. David Robinson - Navy

1986. Johnny Dawkins - Duke

1985. Patrick Ewing - Georgetown

1984. Michael Jordan - North Carolina

You can see the full list here.

Mike Whitelock is an author and sports writer.