Amy Gutierrez, Associated Press
In this Dec. 5. 2009 photo, Texas quarterback Colt McCoy (12) is sacked by Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh (93) in the first half of the Big 12 Conference championship game in Arlington, Texas. Suh has been invited to the Heisman Trophy presentation as a finalist, along with Mark Ingram, Toby Gerhart, Tim Tebow and Colt McCoy during an announcement on Monday, Dec. 7, 2009.

CHARLOTTE, N.C. — Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh has won the Bronko Nagurski Trophy as the nation's top defensive player.

Suh beat out TCU defensive end Jerry Hughes, Alabama defensive tackle Terrence Cody, Iowa linebacker Pat Angerer and Tennessee safety Eric Berry for the Nagurski, awarded by the Charlotte Touchdown Club.

Just a few hours earlier Monday, Suh learned he also is one of five finalists for the Heisman Trophy, college football's most prestigious player of the year award.

Suh's dominating season included 4 1/2 sacks in the Cornhuskers' 13-12 loss to Texas on Saturday night in the Big 12 championship game.