PASADENA, Calif. — Oregon and Ohio State will meet in the Rose Bowl in a traditional Big Ten-Pac-10 matchup on Jan. 1 that has been set for several days.

The seventh-ranked Ducks wrapped up the Pac-10 title and their first Rose Bowl appearance since 1995 by beating rival Oregon State 37-33 on Thursday night.

The eighth-ranked Buckeyes clinched the Big Ten championship and their first Rose Bowl appearance since 1997 before Thanksgiving.

Ohio State has played in the BCS the last four seasons, losing its last three appearances.

The Buckeyes have won each of the schools' previous seven meetings, including the 1958 Rose Bowl. They haven't faced each other since 1987.