It was Championship Saturday for Brigham Young University, as the Cougars swept both team titles in the Mountain West Conference indoor track and field championships staged at the Air Force Academy in Colorado, and BYU claimed a third conference crown in the MWC swimming and diving championships held at Oklahoma City, Okla.

BYU won the women's indoor track and field meet with 224 points, with TCU a distance second with 117.

BYU's Craig Poole was named MWC coach of the year, and Amy Menlove won the 60-meter hurdles and was the high-point champion with 30 points. Junior All-American Angela Wagner paced the Cougars' 1-2-3-4 finish in the mile run and also won the 3,000 meters, while freshman Lacy Cramer captured the 800 and freshman Diana Blauer won the high jump.

The BYU men also piled up 224 points, their highest total in at least 30 years, to win the MWC indoor track and field title, with Mark Robision being named MWC Coach of the Year.

Top performances were posted by the Cougars' junior All-American shot put champion Leif Arrhenius, senior Kyle Perry in the mile run, Robert Low in the pole vault and Aaron Powell in the triple jump.

At Oklahoma City, Okla., the BYU women's swimming and diving team topped off its perfect season in the Mountain West with a spotless 8-0 record on the season and the title of MWC champions. The BYU men's team finished fourth.

Being awarded for not only their stellar performance at MWC championships, but throughout the year, BYU's Ron Morris and Ava Jackman were both named MWC Divers of the Year. Morris and Jackman both achieved Diver of the Week honors twice during the 2008-09 season. Both Morris and Jackman placed first on the 1-meter board.