PROVO — A Brigham Young University professor has earned the 2008 Mathematical Association of America Distinguished Teaching Award for the Intermountain Region.

Michael Dorff is the fourth BYU mathematics faculty member to receive the award, which honors professors of mathematics whose efforts have been recognized as influential beyond their own institutions. Previous BYU recipients include James Cannon, Wayne Barrett and Tyler Jarvis.

Dorff is the director of BYU's Center for Undergraduate Research in Mathematics and the university's Mathematics Research Experience for Undergraduates, both of which are funded by the National Science Foundation.

The Mathematical Association of America has more than 27,000 members. The MAA Intermountain Region includes all colleges and universities in Utah and southern Idaho.