The Triple Crown World Series fast pitch softball tournament in Park City wrapped up this weekend with a number of local teams finishing in the top of their age categories.

The tournament finished with 16- and 18-year-old divisions to give college coaches the opportunity to see some of the country's best softball players. This year nearly 400 teams participated in the championship tournament, including more than a dozen from Utah.

Colorado Styxx (9-0) took first place in the 16-and-under A division, while the Salt Lake Flames (Stansbury Park) went 9-2 and took second place. The Payson Sting (7-2) finished third and the Colorado Comets (7-2) were fourth. Fifth place was a tie between California Adrenaline (6-3) and the Utah Sting of Bountiful (5-3).

In the 18-and-under A division, Pegasus of South Weber, took second place with a record of 8-2. The champion was undefeated OC Batbusters, from Anaheim, California. The TC Stars, of Colorado, were third, while AZ Power was fourth. Fifth place was again a tie between AZ ICE and Desert Thunder, also of Arizona. The TC Thunder of Erda, Utah, tied for seventh place with a 6-3 record.

The Devastation (Taylorsville) and Utah Sliders (Garland) tied for 11th place in the tournament.

The Triple Crown World Series was established in 1995 and in it's inaugural year, 24 teams participated. It began in Steamboat Springs, Colorado, in conjunction with the Triple Crown Baseball World Series, but moved to Park City because Steamboat couldn't accommodate both tournaments in 2003. The championship has grown steadily over the years to about 400 teams this summer.