HENDERSON, Nev. — If the Mountain West Conference preseason media poll prove accurate, BYU and Utah will be the top two teams in the league.

The Cougars are the preseason favorites. They received 29 of the 34 first-place votes. The Utes picked up the other five.

On the individual front, BYU quarterback Max Hall and Utah punter/kicker Louie Sakoda earned accolades. Hall was named Offensive Player of the Year and Sakoda was tabbed at Special Teams Player of the Year.

Seven Cougars (wide receiver Austin Collie, offensive lineman Ray Feinga, offensive lineman Dallas Reynolds, tight end Dennis Pitta, quarterback Max Hall, running back Harvey Unga and defensive lineman Jan Jorgensen) made the all-conference team. The Utes had five representatives — offensive lineman Robert Conley, defensive line Paul Kruger, defensive back Brice McCain, defensive back Robert Johnson and punter/kicker Louie Sakoda.


1. BYU (29) — 299

2. Utah (5) — 274

3. TCU — 239

4. New Mexico — 197

5. Wyoming — 156

6. Air Force — 141

7. San Diego State — 92

8. Colorado State — 73

9. UNLV — 59


Offensive Player of the Year: Max Hall, BYU

Defensive Player of the Year: Jason Phillips, TCU

Special Teams Player of the Year: Louie Sakoda, Utah Freshman of the Year: Braylon Broughton, TCU


WR: Austin Collie, BYU WR: Ryan Wolfe, UNLV OL: Nick Charles, Air Force OL: Ray Feinga, BYU OL: Dallas Reynolds, BYU OL: Blake Schlueter, TCU OL: Robert Conley, Utah TE: Dennis Pitta, BYU QB: Max Hall, BYU RB: Harvey Unga, BYU RB: Rodney Ferguson, New Mexico


DL: Jan Jorgensen, BYU DL: Paul Kruger, Utah DL: John Fletcher, Wyoming DL/LB: Ryan Kemp, Air Force LB: Ward Dobbs, Wyoming LB: Russell Allen, San Diego State LB: Jason Phillips, TCU DB: Brice McCain, Utah DB: DeAndre Wright DB: Stephen Hodge, TCU DB: Robert Johnson, Utah


P: Louie Sakoda, Utah PK: Louie Sakoda, Utah RS: Devin Moore, Wyoming

E-mail: [email protected]; [email protected]