Soldier Hollow's Gold Course is normally the more difficult of the state park's two golf courses.

In Wednesday's opening round of the 110th Utah Men's State Amateur golf tournament, however, two of the three men on top of the leaderboard did their damage on the Gold Course. In fact, a new course record was set Wednesday afternoon and then was broken about 15 minutes later.

Dixie State senior Andrew Barton first broke Michael McRae's two-year-old course record of 67 when he posted a 6-under par 66. But even before the new record had soaked in, Utah State senior Devin Daniels came in with a 64 on the upper course. Barton had five birdies, one eagle and one bogey. Daniels had the same amount of birdies, but had two eagles and two bogeys.

BYU junior Robbie Fillmore, who played the Silver Course on Wednesday morning, is tied with Barton for third place, also firing a 66. Fillmore had six birdies, an eagle and two bogeys. Fillmore gets his shot at the Gold Course on Thursday.

Sitting in fourth place, tied at 4-under 68, are former Timpanogos High star Jeff Holmes, South Summitt High sophomore Taylor Haws and little known Phil Kalivas. Three golfers shot 69 — Zach Blair, John Owen and Steve Borget. Former champions Doug Bybee (70), Michael McRae (70), Darrin Overson (71) and defending champion Nick Nelson (72) each turned in a respectable score.

In total, 39 players shot even-par 72 or better Wednesday. Nineteen more shot a 1-over par 73 and 18 more posted a 2-over 74. Following the completion of 36 holes on Thursday, the low 31 and Nelson will advance to match play.

110th Utah Men's State Amateur

Soldier Hollow, par -72

First-round scores

64 - Devin Daniels

66- Robbie Fillmore, Andrew Barton

68 - Jeff Holmes, Phil Kalivas, Taylor Haws

69 - Zach Blair, Steve Borget, John Owen

70 - Doug Bybee, Nathan Page, O.J. Ainsworth, Joe Webber, Chad Crowther, Michael McRae, Casey Fowles, Matt McArthur

71 - Darrin Overson, Carl Jensen, Steve Poulson, Herb Lyons, Cameron Crawford, Rockwell Schutjer, Brett Garner, Clay Bingham, Brock Griffith, Corey Mathews, Patrick Fishburn

72 - Clark Fredrickson, Nick Nelson, Bill Probst, Mike Mercer, Brandon Kida, Jon Wright, Brady Boman, Denny Job, Jason Harget, Lance Richards, Keaton Woodland, McCoy Willey

73 - Brady Stanger, Greg Buckway, Rich Groendyke, Nick Killpack, Kirk Siddens, Jon Morgan, Shane Cullimore, Stuart Gold, John Rhodes, Seth Olsen, Corbin Gale, Jordan Rodgers, Mike Jurca, Robert McRae, Adam Jones, Tad Cox, Todd Francis, James Sutton