PROVO — Brigham Young University's Marriott School of Management announced the winners of the 2008 Merrill J. Bateman Awards, the only schoolwide awards selected entirely by students.

Receiving Merrill J. Bateman Outstanding Student Awards are Christy Hellewell, from Bountiful, and Michael Flett, from Teresopolis, Brazil.

J. Michael Pinegar, professor of finance, received the Merrill J. Bateman Student Choice Award.

The Merrill J. Bateman Outstanding Student Award is given annually to one undergraduate and one graduate student in recognition of their support to the Marriott School, service to the community, participation in networking and professional development, the school said.

At the awards presentation, Kyle Poll, president of the Marriott School Student Council, said, "As so many nominations for these prestigious awards rolled in, it was amazing to see not only the caliber of students at this school but also the respect their classmates hold for them."

Hellewell, a senior majoring in business marketing, serves as vice president of the Marriott School Undergraduate Student Association, where she helps organize socials, service projects and other activities. She was one of two students who represented the school at the Undergraduate Leadership Conference at Emory University and also was selected to work as a student liaison to alumni and donors on the President's Leadership Council.

Flett, a second-year MBA student with an emphasis in finance, sold nearly everything he owned to come to BYU with his wife and two children. He served on the Marriott School Diversity Board and as president of the International Graduate Student Association, where he worked to improve the experiences of international students and their spouses. He also served as a mentor to new finance students and as a judge for the Portuguese Business Case Competition at BYU.

The Merrill J. Bateman Student Choice Award is given to a faculty member, staff member or administrator who mentors students, participates in student activities and acts as an exemplary personal and professional example, the school said.

Pinegar, the Joel C. Peterson Professor of Finance, joined the Marriott School faculty in 1988 and has received numerous awards for his teaching and research according to the school. His reputation for putting students first stems from his commitment to learn every student's name and his willingness to devote extra time and attention to help students outside of class, the school said.

Elder Merrill J. Bateman, president of BYU from 1996 to 2003, delivered the keynote address at the awards ceremony. Elder Bateman served as dean of the BYU College of Business from 1975 to 1979, before it was named the Marriott School. He is a general authority emeritus in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and now serves as president of the Provo Temple.

The Marriott School has nationally recognized programs in accounting, business management, public management, information systems and entrepreneurship, the school said. The school said its mission is to prepare men and women of faith, character and professional ability for positions of leadership throughout the world. Approximately 3,000 students are enrolled in the Marriott School's graduate and undergraduate programs.