Two Utah National Guard members were among a select group of Army officers honored May 14 at the 21st annual General Douglas MacArthur Award ceremony at the Pentagon.

Richfield native and Salt Lake resident Capt. Shawn M. Fuellenbach, I Corps Artillery, and Tooele resident Chief Warrant Officer Robert K. Goldsberry, 19th Special Forces Group (Airborne) Group Support Company, joined 26 other recipients at the ceremony.

The award is named for Gen. Douglas MacArthur, whose ideals of duty, honor and country guide the selection committee as it weighs the individual achievements of applicants and their units' overall performance, according to a press release.

Army Chief of Staff Gen. George W. Casey Jr. was the keynote speaker and presented to each recipient an engraved 15-pound bronze bust of MacArthur mounted on a walnut pedestal. "The young leaders recognized today epitomize the solider that Gen. Douglas MacArthur believed in," said Casey during his remarks.

Seven of the 28 soldiers recognized were from the National Guard. Utah was the only state to have two soldiers receiving the award.

"It's a reflection not only of the accomplishments of these two fine officers, but it's an indication of the quality of soldiers we have in the Utah National Guard," said Maj. Gen. Brian Tarbet, Utah National Guard adjutant general, after the ceremony. "I'm very proud of these two and those who serve with them."

Goldsberry, who has 14 years in the Guard, was among the first Utah Guard members to deploy after 9/11, serving with Bravo Company, 19th Special Forces Group, in Afghanistan.

Fuellenbach,formerly the county treasurer for Sevier County and current full-time operations officer for I Corps Artillery, is an 18-year Guard veteran. He deployed with the 2-222nd Field Artillery to Iraq in 2005-2006, and as commander of Alpha Battery, his unit was presented the Hamilton Award for being 2007's best artillery battery in the Army National Guard.