Weber State University was named the MTNA-Benjamin Whitten Collegiate Chapter of the Year at this spring's annual conference of the Music Teachers National Association in Denver. The award comes with a $1,000 grant.

The award is given to the MTNA collegiate chapter that demonstrates excellence in its chapter activities. Weber co-advisers Ralph Van Der Beek and Yu-Jane Yang were honored with the Collegiate Chapter Advisers of the Year Award.

In addition, the Utah Music Teachers Association was named the MTNA State Affiliate of the Year. That award also comes with a $1,000 grant.