1 of 2
The Associated Press
LSU head coach Les Miles speaks during a news conferemce for the BCS National Championship college football game Sunday, Jan. 8, 2012, in New Orleans. LSU faces Alabama on Monday, Jan 9, 2012. AP Photo/David J. Phillip)

NEW ORLEANS — LSU coach Les Miles has already come out a winner on the day of the BCS championship game.

Miles won the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year award for the Football Bowl Subdivision after leading his top-ranked Tigers to a perfect regular-season record and an SEC championship.

LSU plays No. 2 Alabama for the BCS national title on Monday night.

The award is given to the coach who best exemplifies sportsmanship, integrity, responsibility and excellence on and off the field. Winners receive a $50,000 charitable donation from Liberty Mutual and a $20,000 scholarship award to their school's alumni association.

The other winners were Montana State's Rob Ash in the Football Championship Subdivision, Pittsburg State's Tim Beck in Division II and St. Thomas' Glenn Caruso in Division III.