1 of 6
Francis J. Carney

SALT LAKE CITY — The Utah State Bar has honored six attorneys with Lifetime Service Awards:

Francis J. Carney, who practiced as a medical-malpractice defense attorney for nearly 20 years, followed by 10 years as a plaintiffs counsel. He now works as a mediator, is a member of the Utah Supreme Court's advisory committees on the Rules of Civil Procedure and Model Utah Civil Jury Instructions, and serves as co-chairman of the Utah State Bar's Character and Fitness Committee.

Bert L. Dart, a past president of the Utah State Bar and the Salt Lake County Bar, has also served as chairman of the Utah Legal Services board of trustees and the Utah Supreme Court Professional Conduct Committee.

Pamela T. Greenwood served on the Utah Court of Appeals from 1987 to 2010. She was the first female president of both the Utah State Bar and the Salt Lake County Bar. She practiced general civil law in the areas of real estate, corporate law, employment, domestic law and bankruptcy.

W. Eugene Hansen has served as president of the Utah State Bar, chairman of the Utah State Board of Regents and member of the Presidency of the Seventy of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.

V. Lowry Snow is a past president of the Utah State Bar and past recipient of the Bar's Pro Bono Service of the Year award. He is a past chairman of the Washington County Economic Development Council and is a member of the Governor's Office of Economic Development board.

Comment on this story

Francis M. Wikstrom is a former U.S. attorney for Utah and chairman of his law firm's litigation department for more than a decade. He is chairman of the Utah Supreme Court Advisory Committee on the Rules of Civil Procedure.

The Bar also recognized:

Steven H. Stewart, Pro Bono Award. Stewart is a member of the board of directors of the Inclusion Center for Community and Justice, served as an Alta justice court judge.

T. Richard Davis, Professionalism. Davis is an attorney focusing on real estate and banking law.

Robert D. Myrick, Community Member Award. Myrick is a non-lawyer member of the Utah Supreme Court's Ethics and Discipline Committee. He is president, CEO and board member of Morgan Stanley.