Despite numerous reports saying he's all but set to become Ohio State's next football coach, Urban Meyer said Wednesday that is not the case.

"I have not been offered any job nor is there a deal in place," the former Florida coach said in a statement released through ESPN, where he is a college football analyst. "I plan on spending Thanksgiving with my family and will not comment on this any further."

Several websites, TV stations and The Columbus Dispatch have reported that Meyer has reached an agreement in principle with Ohio State and, barring any last-minute problems, will be introduced as the Buckeyes' coach next week.

People within the athletic department and close to the team told The Associated Press the job has not been offered to Meyer and nothing has been completed. They spoke on condition of anonymity because the coaching search is supposed to be confidential. Athletic director Gene Smith declined to comment Wednesday.

Ohio State, under interim coach Luke Fickell, plays at No. 17 Michigan on Saturday. Fickell, who some reports have said will be retained on Meyer's staff, declined to address the story, which has been percolating for days.

SUU SWEEPS GREAT WEST AWARDS: The Thunderbirds swept the four Great West Conference Player of the Year awards in voting among the conference coaches.

Brad Sorensen was named Offensive Player of the Year, Tyler Osborne earned Defensive Player of the Year honors, Austin Minefee was Special Teams Player of the Year and Brady Measom was named Rookie of the Year.

"Considering the top-to-bottom parity of the Great West Conference this year, I'm honored that four of our players would be voted as player of the year," SUU Coach Ed Lamb said. "Brad, Tyler, Austin and Brady consistently delivered solid individual performances throughout the season."

In all, SUU placed nine players on the all-conference first team and five more on the second team.

Sorensen and Minefee were joined on the coaches' first offense by senior tight end Abbel Aiono, who had 28 receptions for 308 yards and three touchdowns, and junior guard Zach Brackus.

Joining Osborne on the first defense were senior linebackers Blake Fenn and Herman Sword, and senior defensive backs Dion Turner and Erron Vonner.

Earning second-team recognition were Measom, sophomore wide receiver Fatu Moala (Kearns), sophomore center Gavin Farr, Junior defensive tackle Cody Larsen (Draper) and sophomore linebacker Chad Hansen (Murietta, Calif.).

19 WILDCATS EARN BIG SKY HONRS: A total of 19 Weber State football players have earned Big Sky All-Conference honors, the league announced Tuesday. Three Wildcats were named to the Big Sky All-Conference first team, four were named to the second team, and 12 Wildcats earned Honorable Mention honors.

Comment on this story

J.C. Oram, Nick Webb, and Tevia Tolutau were named to the First Team. Tytan Timoteo, Josh Booker, Trevor Pletcher and Josh Kealamakia were named to the second team. Shaydon Kehano, Caleb Turner, Tyson Tiatia, Mike Hoke, Ryan Eastman, Pete Rolf, Caldwell Taylor, Mo Neal, Anthony Morales, Willie Okwuonu and Tony Epperson all earned Honorable Mention honors from the Big Sky. Pletcher was named to the second team and honorable mention team.

Eastern Washington quarterback Bo Levi Mitchell was named the Big Sky Offensive Player of the Year. Montana linebacker Caleb McSurdy was named Defensive Player of the Year and Montana State running back Tray Robinson was named the Newcomer of the Year.