Photo: UNLV
David Holland.

WASHINGTON, D.C. — An LDS bishop from Las Vegas is among 31 elite educators who will be honored today as 2011 U.S. Professors of the Year by the Carnegie Foundation for Advancement of Teaching.

David Holland, an associate professor of history at the University of Nevada-Las Vegas, was chosen as one of 27 professors to receive the prestigious state professor of the year. Four other university educators from around the country were also selected to receive national awards.

Holland and the other winners will be honored Nov. 17 at a luncheon and awards ceremony at the Newseum.

Holland earned his bachelor's degree at Brigham Young University, and his M.A. and Ph.D. at Stanford University. Holland has also served as a bishop for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in the Las Palmas Ward, Spring Stake in Las Vegas for more than two years.

The U.S. Professors of the Year Awards Program was created in 1981 to recognize excellence in undergraduate teaching and mentoring. This year's U.S. Professors of the Year award winners were selected from a pool of nearly 300 nominees. Judges selected national and state winners based on four criteria: impact on and involvement with undergraduate students; scholarly approach to teaching and learning; contributions to undergraduate education in the institution, community and profession; and support from colleagues and current and former students.

John Lippincott, president of the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE), said this year's national and state winners come from a broad range of academic disciplines and institutional types.

"They represent the great diversity and, therefore, one of the great strengths of American higher education," Lippincott said. "Their differences notwithstanding, they all share a passionate dedication to undergraduate teaching, an innovative approach to engaging students in the learning process and a lifelong commitment to academic exploration. We applaud their belief in the pedagogy of mutual discovery and in the principle that knowledge liberates, empowers and humanizes us all."

Comment on this story

Anthony S. Bryk, president of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, said these dedicated instructors not only inspire their students but also their colleagues.

"This year's national and state winners are the leaders and champions who are able to contribute their knowledge and wisdom to inspire other faculty members to work even harder to ensure sustained educational improvements," Bryk said. "Through their informed and committed leadership, we can build stronger institutions where faculty and students achieve the kind of success that will honor our national commitment to a quality education for all our citizens."