1 of 11
Joe Raymond, Associated Press
From left, Randy Cross, UCLA 1973-75, Alfred Williams, Colorado 1987-90, and Ray Caveness, Arkansas 1962-64, stand on a float during the parade at the College Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Festival in South Bend, Ind. on Saturday, July 16, 2011.

SOUTH BEND, Ind. — Desmond Howard said it's hard to believe 20 years have gone by since he won the Heisman Trophy as a star receiver and kick returner at Michigan.

His glory days of two decades ago were recognized Saturday night when he was enshrined in the College Football Hall of Fame.

Asked what the biggest change is today from when he played for the Wolverines, Howard had a quick answer: the spread offense. And then he let out a big laugh, saying just imagine what he could have done in that type of offense where quickness and speed are used to create mismatches for the defense.

Howard was one of 16 players to be enshrined. Four coaches were also honored.