Mike Terry, Deseret News
Wasatch's Alex Espinoza in the 3A Utah State Championship match at Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy on Saturday, May 14, 2011.

Note: The Deseret News picks the MVPs, but the remainder of the all-state teams are based on coaches votes.


Alex Espinoza, Wasatch, So., MF

Dynamic midfielder finished with 21 goals and 19 assists for the state champs.

3A First Team


Jackson Cheal, Wasatch, Jr., Finished with 17 goals, 6 assists

Dayvin Palmer, Desert Hills, Sr., 17 goals, 8 assists

Adam Richardson, Juan Diego, Jr., Tallied 18 goals, 6 assists

Ross Terrill, Judge Memorial, Sr., Finished with 14 goals


Anthony Alcox, Park City, Sr., Led Miners with 16 goals

Skyler Doran, Juan Diego, Sr., JD's playmaker, 15 goals

Patrick Hickman, Judge Memorial, Jr., Solid midfielder

Jorge Lemus, Bear River, Sr., 15 goals, very creative


Mike Brown, Wasatch, Sr., Athletic presence at back

Kendall Burgener, Desert Hills, Sr., 3-year starter

Isaiah Garcia, Juan Diego, Sr., Key to JD's 11 shutouts

Collin Hopkins, Wasatch, Sr., Very solid center back


Cooper Hall, Wasatch, Jr., His 12 shutouts tied school rec.

Du Nguyen, Juan Diego, Sr., Had 11 shutouts

3A Second Team


Victor Galindo, Ben Lomond, Fr.

Devon Hall, Wasatch, Sr.

Jesse Katzenbach, Hurricane, Jr.

Riley Steed, Bear River, Sr.


KB Bonner, Wasatch, Sr.

Emmanuel Hurtado, Juan Diego, Jr.

Ben Powell, Wasatch, So.

Daniel Ramirez, Juan Diego, Sr.


Dan Goodman, Judge Memorial, Sr.

Trevin Hansen, Cedar, Sr.

Devin Stagg, Desert Hills, Sr.

Bobby Sullivan, Juan Diego, Sr.


Gustavo Morales, Desert Hills, Jr.

Brady Payne, Delta, Jr.

3A Honorable Mention

Jace Abbott, Delta

David Alveno, Ben Lomond

Ryan Brubaker, Hurricane

Daniel Chavez, Manti

Westyn DeMille, Canyon View

Ben Emett, Desert Hills

Domey Espinoza, Wasatch

Landon Fischer, Hurricane

Joey Goodwin, Park City

Koy Gubler, Hurricane

Devon Hall, Wasatch

Mitch Hales, Union

Cody Hammons, Bear River

Jace Johnson, Delta

Tyson King, Bear River

Kyle Kinman, Desert Hills

Jorge Mendiola, Carbon

Keenan McCall, Park City

Edson Moreno, Judge Memorial

Ben Powell, Wasatch

Tanner Steed, Bear River

Zach VanDyke, Richfield

Brennan West, Morgan

Sam Williams, Park City