1 of 15
Lennie Mahler, Deseret News
BYU guard Jimmer Fredette speaks to the media during a press conference at the Marriott Center on Monday, March 21, 2011. BYU faces Florida nexthe NCAA tournament.

When all is said and done, Jimmer Fredette will go down as one of the most decorated athletes in BYU history.

The senior guard has been in Houston, site of the Final Four, collecting a host of hardware over the past several days, including three prestigious national player of the year awards: the Oscar Robertson Trophy, the Adolph Rupp Award, and the Associated Press player of the year award. He became the first Cougar to ever claim the Oscar Robertson and Adolph Rupp honors.

Two more major awards are also attainable for Fredette — the Naismith college player of the year, which will be announced tonight, and the Wooden Award, which will be announced next week.

The Naismith, presented by the Atlanta Tipoff Club, is named in honor of the inventor of basketball, Dr. James Naismith. This recognition is unique in that it allows fan voting to count for 25 percent of the final vote. No other major award features such a high percentage of fan involvement.

No BYU player has ever won the Naismith award.

Fredette, a 6-foot-2, Glens Falls, N.Y., native, is one of four finalists for the Naismith, along with Ohio State's Jared Sullinger, Duke's Nolan Smith and UConn's Kemba Walker.

Meanwhile, Cougar coach Dave Rose is a finalist for the Naismith coach of the year award, along with San Diego State's Steve Fisher, Ohio State's Thad Matta, and Notre Dame's Mike Brey. Rose guided the Cougars to their fourth MWC championship in five years and a school-record 32 victories.

Fredette has compiled a long list of accolades, almost as prolific as his relentless scoring ability. Those honors recognize a sensational season in which he led BYU to its first Sweet 16 appearance since 1981.

"It's always a joy to watch a player of Fredette's caliber play, and we're pleased this year that his selection marks the first-ever winner from both BYU and the Mountain West Conference," said Gerry Calvert, spokesperson of the Commonwealth Athletic Club of Kentucky that presented Fredette with the Rupp Award this week in Houston. "Jimmer's obvious dedication and work ethic are hallmarks of what Coach Rupp demanded from his players."

The Oscar Robertson Trophy was bestowed upon Fredette by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association, which consists of more than 900 journalists.

Fredette was also named to the AP All-American team, receiving all but one vote from the 65-member AP media panel that selects the weekly top 25.

"It's been quite a ride and it's been a lot of fun and I wouldn't take anything back," Fredette said. "I had quite the career at BYU. There were a lot of ups and downs, but there were a lot more ups this year."

"To see Jimmer progress and become a leader of his team, that will be his basketball legacy," Rose said. "He is driven not just to be the best player he can, but it was how he helped his teammates to win. He always found a way. That's what I'll remember most."

This season, Fredette became BYU's all-time leading scorer and winningest player. He became the first Cougar to be named to the John Wooden All-American team since Devin Durrant in 1984.

A rundown of Fredette's accomplishments and awards:

Nation's leading scorer (28.9 points per game)

Oscar Robertson Trophy (USBWA National Player of the Year)

Sporting News National Player of the Year

Adolph Rupp Trophy

Basketball Times National Player of the Year

CBSSports.com National Player of the Year

SI.com National Player of the Year

Lowe's Senior CLASS Award

John R. Wooden Award All-America Team

AP All-America First Team

Sporting News All-America First Team

State Farm Coaches' All-America Team for NABC Division I First Team

USBWA All-America First Team

CBSSports.com All-America First Team

SI.com All-America First Team

Yahoo! Sports All-America First Team

FoxSports.com All-America First Team

Lute Olson All-America Team

MWC Player of the Year

All-MWC First Team

NABC All-District 17 First Team

USBWA All-District VIII First Team

USBWA District VIII Player of the Year

USBWA National Player of the Week (Dec. 13)

Dick Vitale National Player of the Week (Dec. 13, Jan. 10, Jan. 17)

ESPN.com Weekly Watch National Player of the Week (Jan. 10, Jan. 17)

MWC Player of the Week (Nov. 29, Dec. 13, Jan. 3, Jan. 10, Jan. 17, Jan. 24, Feb. 7, Feb. 28)

South Padre Island Invitational MVP

John R. Wooden Award Final Ballot

Naismith Finalist

Bob Cousy Award Finalist (Final 5)

EMAIL: [email protected]