PROVO — At this rate, BYU guard Jimmer Fredette will need to build an entire wing in his house just for all of the awards he has received.

On Wednesday, Fredette was named the winner of the Adolph Rupp Award, emblematic of the national player of the year. The award will be presented to Fredette by the Commonwealth Athletic Club of Kentucky Thursday in Houston in conjunction with the Final Four.

43 comments on this story

Past winners of the Rupp Award include Larry Bird, Michael Jordan, Shaquille O'Neal, Christian Laettner, Tim Duncan, Kevin Durant, Blake Griffin and John Wall.

Fredette was also named to the John R. Wooden All-American team, the Los Angeles Athletic Club announced. He is joined on the 10-player team by Notre Dame's Ben Hansbrough, Purdue's JuJuan Johnson, San Diego State's Kawhi Leonard, Kansas' Marcus Morris, Kansas State's Jacob Pullen, Duke's Nolan Smith, Ohio State's Jared Sullinger, Connecticut's Kemba Walker, and Arizona's Derrick Williams.