The Deseret News has been honoring the state's best basketball players for 25 years, dating back to 1987 when Ben Lomond's Kurt Miller won the inaugural award.

Comment on this story

Of the 25 winners, all have gone on to play college basketball with Emery's Shawn Bradley, the 1989 winner, eventually playing in the NBA.

This year's winner, Tyrell Corbin, is the first winner from West High School.

Twenty different high schools have had an athlete win the award, with only Lone Peak, Murray and Judge having multiple winners.

Murray's Jeff Johnsen and Lone Peak's Tyler Haws are the only two-time winners of the Mr. Basketball award.

Eight past winners have gone on to play for BYU, while seven have gone on to the University of Utah


2011: Tyrell Corbin, West (undecided)

2010: Kyle Collinsworth, Provo (BYU)

2009: Tyler Haws, Lone Peak (BYU)

2008: Tyler Haws, Lone Peak (BYU)

2007: Morgan Grim, Riverton (Utah, Utah St.)

2006: Daniel Deane, Judge (Utah, Oregon St.)

2005: Jackson Emery, Lone Peak (BYU)

2004: Tai Wesley, Provo (Utah State)

2003: Josh Olsen, Alta (Utah)

2002: Brody Van Brocklin, Davis (SLCC)

2001: Jared Jensen, Fremont (BYU)

2000: Garner Meads, Brighton (BYU)

1999: Tim Henry, Mtn. View (SLCC)

1998: Tony Brown, Mtn. Crest (Utah State)

1997: Britton Johnsen, Murray (Utah)

1996: Jeff Johnsen, Murray (Utah)

1995: Jeff Johnsen, Murray (Utah)

1994: Alex Jensen, Viewmont (Utah)

1993: Ben Melmeth, Judge (Utah)

1992: JaRon Boone, Skyline (Nebraska)

1991: Justin Weidauer, Cottonwood (BYU)

1990: Kenneth Roberts, Bingham (BYU)

1989: Shawn Bradley, Emery (BYU)

1988: Matt Bowman, Timpview (UVCC)

1987: Kurt Miller, Ben Lomond (New Mexico)