SALT LAKE CITY — The Utah Republican Party has a new chairman.

A news release from the Republican National Committee says Thomas Wright was elected Saturday.

Wright is the chairman of the Salt Lake County Republican Party.

Wright is replacing Dave Hansen, who resigned to work on the re-election campaign for Republican U.S. Sen. Orrin Hatch of Utah.

Wright was one of five new state party chairman elected Saturday. The other states with leadership elections were Arizona, New Hampshire, Oregon and Washington state.