BYU head football coach LaVell Edwards, who has guided the Cougars to a No. 4 national ranking, was named the 1990 Western Athletic Conference coach of the year by the league's head coaches and sports information directors.

The WAC also awarded honors to BYU quarterback Ty Detmer, who was named the league's offensive player of the year. With two games remaining in the regular season, the Cougars stand at 9-1 and have won the WAC championship, a second consecutive WAC title and the 12th in Edwards' 18-year coaching career.

Edwards, 60, received 10 first-place votes and 25 points in the balloting to outpace Colorado State coach Earle Bruce, who had five first-place votes and 15 points.

This year's award marks the sixth WAC Coach of the Year honor for Edwards, who also won in 1972, 1979, 1980, 1983 and 1984. He has coached the Cougars to eight or more wins in each of the last 14 seasons. With an 18-year career record of 174-57-1, Edwards is the third-winningest active coach in Division I-A and ranks fifth in total victories.