OREM — The Utah Valley State College Foundation has awarded $45,000 to faculty and staff to support individual projects — $10,000 more than was awarded last year.

Of the 25 proposals submitted, more than half of the applicant projects were funded, providing 13 grants to 12 faculty and staff members.

In accordance with the institution's goal to promote student success, the Exceptional Merit Grant Program was created to support faculty and staff in creative endeavors that would enhance the learning environment for UVSC students. Since its establishment in 1997, the foundation has awarded more than $422,000 to assist 155 projects with up to $5,000 each.

This year's grant recipients are Olga Kopp, Virginia E. Bayer, Todd Low, Happiness Peterson, Matthew Horn, Mary Ellen Larsen, Chinami Yammamoto, Christopher Clark, Hsiu-Chin Chen (two grants), Dianne McAdams-Jones, Philip Matheson and Nichole Ortega.