WOODS CROSS — There will be no primary for the open seat on the Davis County Board of Commissioners this year.

West Point Mayor John Petroff, owner of JP's American Car Care Center in Clearfield, walked away with 72 percent of the vote at the Davis County Republican convention Saturday at Woods Cross High School.

The party-level win came over Barbara Riddle, president and chief executive officer of the Davis Area Convention and Visitors Bureau, and Dave Harris, a Weber State University adjunct professor and former Davis sheriff's deputy.

In November, Petroff will face off against J. Dell Holbrook, a Democrat and former county commissioner.

Petroff said he was shocked at the turnout, but he attributed the win to good campaigning and lots of hard work from his supporters.

Riddle had 15 percent of the delegates' votes, and Harris had 12 percent.

While candidates were making speeches to delegates, Harris said the recently built North Davis Fire District station, located in West Point, is sitting empty with no money to staff it.

Petroff, whose city created the fire district with Clearfield, called Harris' statement an "out-and-out lie." The building was recently completed, and firemen will be hired soon, Petroff said. Once they're hired, they'll staff the fire station.

"We have plenty of money. Believe me," he told the Deseret News.

Davis County residents can count on a Republican primary election in June for the much-contested race for Senate District 23.

Eight Republican candidates filed to run for that seat, which Sen. Dan Eastman, R-Bountiful, is vacating.

Bountiful residents Dan Liljenquist and Ron Mortensen will face off in the June 24 primary after Liljenquist received 55 percent and Mortensen received 45 percent of delegates' votes.

Mortensen said he recognized that Liljenquist has raised more money, but he is counting on seeking a large political base, a "Ron's Army," to help him campaign.

Rep. Curt Oda, R-Clearfield, defeated Davis School District spokesman Chris Williams in the race for House District 14.

Williams said he learned a primary would have happened with a change of two votes.

Reps. Brad Dee, R-Ogden; Paul Ray, R-Clinton; Doug Aagard, R-Kaysville; Kevin Garn, R-Layton; Julie Fisher, R-Fruit Heights; Roger Barrus, R-Centerville; and Sheryl Allen, R-Bountiful, were unopposed in the Davis Republican Party.

In Weber County, residents will vote in one primary in House District 7 because challenger Ryan Wilcox received one more vote than the incumbent, Rep. Glenn Donnelson, R-North Ogden, said Weber Republican chairman Matthew Bell.

In House District 8, Rep. Gage Froerer, R-Huntsville, received 100 percent of votes, and in House District 9, Jeremy Peterson received all but two votes over James Carrell. Peterson will challenge incumbent Neil Hansen, D-Ogden, for the seat in November.

E-mail: [email protected]