How the Super Bowl winners fared in their next season:

2007—Indianapolis lost to San Diego 28-24 in AFC divisional playoff.

2006—Pittsburgh finished third in AFC North division with an 8-8 record.

2005—New England lost to Denver 27-13 in AFC divisional playoff.

2004—New England repeated and beat Philadelphia 24-21 in Super Bowl.

2003—Tampa Bay finished third in NFC South division with a 7-9 record.

2002—New England finished second in AFC East division with a 9-7 record.

2001—Baltimore lost to Pittsburgh 27-10 in AFC divisional playoff.

2000—St. Louis lost to New Orleans 31-28 in NFC wild-card game.

1999—Denver finished last in the AFC West division with a 6-10 record.

1998—Denver repeated and beat Atlanta 34-19 in Super Bowl.

1997—Green Bay lost to Denver 31-24 in Super Bowl.

1996—Dallas lost to Carolina 26-17 in NFC divisional playoff.

1995—San Francisco lost to Green Bay 27-17 in NFC divisional playoff.

1994—Dallas lost to San Francisco 38-28 in NFC championship.

1993—Dallas repeated and beat Buffalo 30-13 in Super Bowl.

1992—Washington lost to San Francisco 20-13 in NFC divisional playoff.

1991—N.Y. Giants finished fourth in NFC East division with an 8-8 record.