Four individuals and several agencies along the Wasatch Front were honored recently during the annual Golden Spike Awards, recognizing exceptional work in the communications fields.

The Golden Spike Awards are presented annually by the Greater Salt Lake and Utah Valley chapters of the Public Relations Society of America and the International Association of Business Communicators of Utah.

The honors were awarded in two divisions: campaigns and tactics. Within those divisions, awards were given in 25 categories, including special events, media relations, community relations and writing. More than 160 entries were judged by the San Diego chapter of the Public Relations Society of America.

Individual honors were:

Communicator of the Year: William Sederburg, president of Utah Valley State College.

Professional of the Year: Rob Brough, executive vice president of marketing and communications at Zions Bank.

Young Professional of the Year: Jason Carlton, account executive at Vanguard Media Group.

Community Activist of the Year: Joy Erickson, major gifts director at United Way of Salt Lake.

Agencies earning awards were:

Bremer PR, six, (three gold).

Brigham Young University, two.

Crowell/Love, one, (gold).

Integrated Marketing Group, two.

Intermountain Healthcare, one.

Kennecott Land, one (gold).

Kennecott/Riester, one.

LDS Business College, two.

Lumin Publishing, one (gold).

Marriott School of Management, one.

Park City Chamber of Commerce, one.

Penna Powers Brian Haynes, six (three gold).

Penna Powers Brian Haynes/City Creek Reserve Inc., one.

Penna Powers Brian Haynes/SunGard Higher Education, one.

Penna Powers Brian Haynes/UDOT, two (one gold).

Pilmer PR, one.

Politis Communications, one.

Rehabilitation Center at University Health Care, one.

SNG PR, two (one gold).

Summit Group, six (three gold).

Summit Group/Metropolis Integrated Media, one (gold).

The Intrepid Group, 16 (six gold).

Unishippers, one.

University Hospital Foundation, one.

University of Utah, two.

University of Utah Health Science Center, one.

Utah State Courts, two (one gold).

Vanguard Media Group, one (gold).

Wilkinson Ferrari & Co., three (one gold).

Zions Bank, one.