An internationally recognized researcher and professor of chemistry at Brigham Young University has been awarded the Karl G. Maeser Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Award, the university's highest faculty honor.

Milton L. Lee will give his address at 8 p.m. Nov. 11 in the Wilkinson Center Ballroom. The public is welcome.His award, as well as numerous others, were announced recently at the annual University Conference by BYU President Merrill J. Bateman.

Karl G. Maeser Excellence in Teaching Awards were presented to Valerie M. Hudson, political science; Grant W. Mason, physics and astronomy; and Kim L. O'Neill, microbiology.

Receiving Karl G. Maeser Awards in Research and Creativity were Michael J. Lambert, clinical psychology, and John W. Telford, visual arts.

Karl G. Maeser General Education professorships went to Gary M. Booth, zoology, and Kristine Hansen, English.

The Maeser Awards honor the university's founder and first president.

Top staff and administrative awards went to Kate Andreason of Admissions and Records, who received the Red A. Schwendiman Performance Award, and Randall L. Morgan of Financial Services, who was given the Ben E. Lewis Management Award.

English professor Richard H. Cracroft received the Abraham O. Smoot Citizenship Award; R. Ward Rhees of the zoology faculty received the Wesley P. Lloyd Award for Distinction in Graduate Education; Bruce N. Smith of the botany and range science faculty was given the Alumni Professorship Award; and social work faculty member Reed H. Blake received the Phi Kappa Phi Award.

Alcuin Fellows for this year included Mark C. Belk, zoology; John F. Cannon, chemistry and biochemistry; H. Blaine Furniss, botany and range science; Arnold H. Green, history; Cardell K. Jacobson, sociology; Roger T. Macfarlane, humanities; George S. Tate, humanities; Gary S. Williams, Asian and Near Eastern languages; and Gary L. Hatch, English.

In its second year, the Young Scholars program honored Kristen B. DeTienne, organizational leadership and strategy; Perry J. Hardin, geography; Larry L. Howell, mechanical engineering; J. Scott Miller, Asian and Near Eastern languages; and P. Scott Richards, counseling and special education.

This year's Sigma Xi Lecture - the university's top science honor - will be given by William W. Winder of the zoology department at 7:30 p.m. March 18, 1999, in the Monte L. Bean Museum Auditorium.

Other science honorees included Merrill W. Beckstead, chemical engineering, who received the Sponsored Research Achievement Award; and computer science professor William A. Barrett, who was given the Annual Technology Transfer Award.