"Welcome to Julie de Azevedo Night at Kingsbury Hall," quipped Brett Raymond. This after the LDS singer had won five Pearl Awards for her music. But then Raymond was no slouch himself, pulling down three.

Friday's gala was the first year for the Pearls - the Mormon answer to the Grammy Awards. Conceived by industry insiders, the awards are both recognition and promotion for Mormon musicians, composers and singers. And though the pool of people may seem small for such a grand venture, it was a strong showing.Gordon Jump and Ruth Todd hosted the event.

Here's a list of winners:

K. Newell Dayley (Sacred Song for "Faith in Every Footstep"); Brett Raymond (Instrumental Song for "First Light," Concept Album and Album of the Year for "First Light").

Julie de Azevedo (Contemporary Christian Song and Album for "Pray for Rain," Inspirational Song for "Window to His Love," Female Vocalist of the Year and Songwriter of the Year).

Kenneth Cope (Inspirational Song for "Three Angels"), The Mormon Tabernacle Choir (Sacred Album for "Come, Come Ye Saints" and Group of the Year); Hilary Weeks (Inspirational Album for "He Hears Me"); Merrill Jenson and Sam Cardon (Sound-track for "Trail of Hope"); Merrill Jenson (Instrumental Album for "Pioneer Portrait"); David Barrus (Male Vocalist and New Artist of the Year); Jon Schmidt (Instrumentalist of the Year); Sam Car-don (Producer of the Year) and Michael McLean (Performing Artist of the Year).