Twelve new members have been appointed to the board of governors of the Salt Lake Area Chamber of Commerce to work with Alan Layton, president of Layton Construction, who becomes board chairman on July 1, succeeding Mark Stromberg.

The new board members are Becky Aivazian, AT&T Wireless Services; Henry Autry, American Express; Gary DeSeelhorst, Solitude Ski Resort; Kem Gardner, Boyer Co.; Bishop Richard Edgley, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints; Dan England, C.R. England & Sons.Others are Kent H. Murdock, O.C. Tanner; Craig Omer, KPMG Peat Marwick; Abel Porter, Smith's Food & Drug Centers; Bruce T. Reese, Bonneville International; Lane Summerhays, Workers Compensation Fund of Utah; and Niels Valentiner, Valentiner Crane Architects.

They join 17 members of the board who are serving three-year terms.

Layton will serve on the executive committee with William H. Nelson, president, Intermountain Health Care, first vice chairman; and Brad Baldwin, president, Bank One Utah, second vice chairman.

Also serving on the executive committee are Patricia A. Richards, president of business financial services at First Security Bank, vice chairwoman of the Business Development Council; Ted D. Smith, Utah vice president of US West Communications, vice chairman of the Communications and Marketing Council; and George Mantes, president, Mantes Chevrolet, vice chairman of the Government Relations/International Trade Council.

Others are Steve Mannschreck, chief human resources officer, American Stores, vice chairman of the Membership Council; and William A. Paulos, chief executive officer, The Summit Group, vice chairman of the Special Projects Council.