PROVO — Frederick M. Gedicks has been appointed to the Guy Anderson Chair and David A. Thomas to the Rex E. Lee Chair at Brigham Young University's J. Reuben Clark Law School, according to Kevin J. Worthen, dean of the school.

The chairs are named after two distinguished lawyers, Rex E. Lee, former dean of the Law School and president of BYU, and Guy Anderson, a distinguished attorney from Arizona.

Gedicks teaches constitution law, telecommunication and securities regulation courses in the BYU Law School. He received a bachelor's degree in economics from BYU and a juris doctorate degree from the University of Southern California, where he served as Articles Editor of the Law Review.

Thomas is the first professor to permanently attain the Rex E. Lee chair. He joined the law school faculty in 1974 after service as a federal judicial clerk and one year in private law practice. He received his juris doctorate degree from Duke University and his master's degree in library science from BYU.