Representatives of Brigham Young, Oregon and Oregon State meet to discuss an "ideal conference" that would also include Arizona, Arizona State, Utah, New Mexico and Washington State.


Athletic directors at New Mexico and Arizona organize a meeting that includes representatives of the same eight schools.


Washington State, Oregon and Oregon State decide to realign with the other Pacific Coast institutions. Wyoming, New Mexico State and Utah State apply to fill the new vacancies, but only Wyoming is accepted as the final charter member.

July 27, 1962

Six-team Western Athletic Conference is created. Charter members include Skyline Conference members BYU, Utah, New Mexico and Wyoming and Border conference members Arizona and Arizona State.

Sept. 20, 1967

UTEP joins.

Sept. 26, 1967

Colorado State joins, creating eight-team conference.

July 1, 1978

Arizona and Arizona State leave conference for Pacific-8 Conference (renamed PAC-10).

July 1, 1979

Hawaii and San Diego State join, returning membership to eight.

July 1, 1980

Air Force joins.

July 1, 1992

Fresno State joins creating 10-team conference.

July 1, 1996

Big West Conference members UNLV and San Jose State, along with disbanded Southwest conference members TCU, SMU and Rice and independent Tulsa join conference to boost membership to 16 teams.

Fall 1996

WAC adopts divisional format for scheduling in which quadrants are used to create two eight-team divisions in the conference's four primary sports. Quadrants will rotate to promote full-conference play.

May 26, 1998

Charter WAC members Utah, BYU, New Mexico and Wyoming, along with Colorado State, San Diego State, Air Force and UNLV announce they will leave the WAC effective June 1999, saying 16-team league is unmanageable.


Paul Brechler, 1962-68

Wiles Hallock, 1968-71

Stan Bates, 1971-80

Joe Kearney, 1980-94

Karl Benson, 1994-98