South Salt Lake police honored hard-working officers at their annual awards ceremony recently.

One of the honorees, officer Joe Bennett, received the chief's Officer of the Year award for 16 years of service. Bennett has helped start a number of programs while involved in community policing, said Sgt. Beau Babka, police spokesman.Officer Scott Daniels received the Chamber of Commerce Civic Achievement Award for completing several hundred arrests of drunken drivers in nearly five years.

The Honorary Colonel award went to officer Dan Spjut.

Tom Keskey, who retired after 21 years of service, was also honored.

Officer Jeff Loosle received the patrol division Outstanding Performance Award after going beyond the call of duty and taking abuse from a resident during a traffic stop.

The safe driving award was given to five individuals with no accidents or tickets during a five-year period of their career. These were Babka, officer Mike Hoffman, officer Scott McBride, officer Darin Sweeten and officer Brett Turner.

Perfect attendance awards were given to Babka, Sgt. Dave Bahde, Bennett, Loosle, Chief Drew Long, officer Stan Parkin and officer John Sheets.

Sgt. Gregg Carlson, officer Dwayne Ruth and Sweeten were given the marksman award.

The Rookie of the Year award went to officer Jason Richman.

Parkin was given the community-oriented policing division award.

The detective division award went to Det. Jennifer Smartt.

Support staff member Bonnie Graser received the records award.

Joshua Anaya recieved the dispatcher of the year award.

Several officers were presented with community service awards. They were Anaya, officer Carla Armstrong, officer Joe Bennett, Detective Dave Browning, officer Matt Budd, officer Jack Carruth, Detective Steve Daniels, Detective Scott Mattson, officer Paul McCullough, dispatch supervisor Kris Mulholland, Smartt, officer Glenn Smith, officer Brian Stahle, Detective Mike Thorpe, Sgt. Tracey Tingey and Turner.

Police commendation awards were given to Browning, officer Cliff Snyder and Ruth.

Outstanding performance recognition was given to Anaya, officer Joe Bennett, officer Shannon Bennett, Browning, Budd, Carlson, Carruth, officer Scott Daniels, animal control officer Mike Godman, Hoffman, Det. Bill Hogan, dispatcher Marilee Jensen, Det. Matt Jewkes, support staff member Rachel Kier, Loosle, McCullough, Sheets, Smith, Snyder, Stahle, Sweeten, Turner, officer Robin Wilkins, officer John Wittmaak, dispatcher Mildred Valencia and support staff member Charlotte Zahn.

A memorial award honored Candy Phillips, a support staff member who died recently after 20 years of service.