Twelve men and 12 women were named the 1998-1999 Gordon B. Hinckley eight-semester scholarship recipients at Brigham Young University.

Sixty finalists competed for the 24 scholarships. Minimum requirements for consideration include a composite ACT score of 33 and a grade point average of 3.90.The 12 men who received the scholarship are Jedediah G. Brinton, of Mesa, Ariz.; Jonathan Y. Chan, of Niskayuna, N.Y.; Brigham R. Frandsen, of La Canada, Calif.; Richard J. Hawkins, of Provo; D. Chad Hungerford, of Rock Springs, Wyo.; Joseph C. McMurray, of Salt Lake City; Matthew J. Morrison, of Provo; Marc D. Ricks, of Provo; Caleb M. Skidmore, of Lakeville, Minn.; Nicolas W. Thompson, of Spanish Fork; Daniel S. Watson, of Keller, Texas; and M. Bryan Wheeler, of Houston.

The 12 women recipients are Sharon J. Harris, of Twin Falls, Idaho; Sara L. Johns, of Fairbanks, Alaska; Amy L. Kern, of Tucson, Ariz.; Lindsay Leininger, of Ogden; Taina Matheson, of West Jordan; Emily J. Morris, of Salt Lake City; Marilyn Nelson, of Provo; Marisa Pond, of Bellevue, Wash.; Stephanie Stephan, of Orem; Melinda Tonks, of Los Alamos, N.M.; Erin C. Treasure, of Las Vegas; and Kaylynn Walch, of Bountiful.

The 60 finalists were judged in five areas - religious commitment, character, academic excellence, passion for life, service to others and unusual talents and gifts. The finalists came to BYU to participate in interviews, evaluations and activities.