Ten high school students who competed for the title of Utah Young Entrepreneur of the Year in a program called the Governor's Young Entrepreneur Search administered by the Utah State Office of Education were recognized Thursday during a meeting of the MountainWest Venture Group.

In addition to making a short presentation about their businesses, the high school students, who were honored earlier this year, met Dinesh C. Patel, president of TheraTech, recipient of this year's Entrepreneur of the Year Award from the venture group.The top winner with the $5,000 first prize was Jeffrey Hansen, a Murray High School student who owns WEBIT. Brian Johnson, another Murray High student, won $3,000 for his formation of AMRAD Mats & Matting Inc.

Third place went to Ryan Bateman, Fremont High School, $2,000 for his World of Wings, and honorable mention of $500 went to Kurt Avarell, Granite High School, for his Intermountain Termite and Pest Control. Money for the prizes came from Roger W. Peters and the Utah Department of Community and Economic Development.

Other finalists are: Michelle Leonhardt, Emery High School; Trevor Paskett, Roy High School; Matthew Rogers, Valley High School; Jed E. Weller, Weber High School; Allen Whitaker, Davis High School; and David R. Wright, Alta High School.