Two University of Utah football players who caught and subdued a stabbing suspect received a public service star award Tuesday at an awards banquet.

Last year, Jason Hooks and Richard Seals saw a man stab another man several times when working at a downtown business.They kept the attacker under their control until police arrived, then skipped a football practice to testify in court. Hooks and Seals, along with other residents and police officers, received awards for their bravery and service from the Rotary Club, Kiwanis Club and Salt Lake City Police Department.

At the ceremony, officers Brad Burningham, Mark Gross and Steve Hartney were presented with a police star for their bravery. Burningham pursued a drive-by shooting suspect for 30 minutes when other police cars could not keep up. Gross and Hartney remained calm when faced with a suicidal man in possession of a gun at a domestic dispute last month.

Detective Robin Howell received the chief's officer of the year award for his work with the Metro Gang unit. Wesley W. Galloway, a domestic violence advocate, received the non-sworn employee of the year award.

Officer Fred Ross was presented with a police distinguished service medal. Police meritorious service medals were awarded to Lt. Phil Kirk, detective Mike Ross and detective Troy Siebert.

David Belnap, Annmarie Buoscio, Robert McFarland, Susanne Mitchell and Heather Stewart were presented citizen service medals. Members of the public works incident response team also received citizen service medals. Team members are: Curtis Ainsworth, Dan Allen, Mike Carson, Shane Dolar, Gary Griffiths, Trevor Haycock, Cory Snyder, Stephen Tanner and Nathan Wood.

Members of the Solo Motor Squad received the chief's unit award for their help with special events, issuance of nearly 23,000 traffic citations, and arrests of more than 400 drunk drivers. Solo Motor Squad members are: Sgt. Dan Holmes, Sgt. Mark Peck and officers Dave Askerlund, Ryan Atack, John Beener, Michael Brown, Brad Burningham, Michael Chard, Scott Gardiner, James Hallock, Dave Harris, Robert Hawke, Jeff Johnson, Stuart Johnson, Richard Lewis, Roslyn Rainey, Brian Wahlin, Dave Warner and Shane Whiting.

A police distinguished unit citation was presented to the Salt Lake City Vice Unit. Members of the unit are Sgt. Ken Hansen, detectives Ryan Atack, Bryan Bailey, Derek Coats, Mike Hatch, Todd Mitchell and Mitchell Ross.

The training unit also received a police distinguished unit citation. Members of the unit are Lt. Scott Atkinson, Sgt. Ed Lyman, Sgt. Zane Swim, officer Chris Burbank, officer Greg Hagelberg, Fred Louis, officer Carol Niederhaust and Petrina Samul.

The Salt Lake City Uniform Gang Unit received a police meritorious unit citation. Members of the unit are: Lt. Carroll Mays, Sgt. James Hill, Sgt. Foster Mayo, and officers Isaac Atencio, Rich Brede, Mike Brown, Kirk Danielsen, Rich Findlay, Kerry Fowler, Jason Hathaway, Bret Hatch, Dave Hoffman, Randy Hunnewell, Karl Gabbitas, Bryce Johnson, Jeff Kendrick, Mark Nelson, Earl Rose, Pete Sauers, Chad Steed, Mike Tueller and Mike Tuttle.

Members of the 1997 Salt Lake Area Gang Project were presented with a police meritorious unit citation. Project members include Lt. Carroll Mays, Sgt. Chuck Gilbert, Sgt. Arb Nordgran, Sgt. Jim Upton, and detectives Norm Bettridge, Craig Black, Scott Christensen, Paul Christiansen, Kim Cowley, Richard Davis, Terry Fritz, Kerry Fowler, Robin Howell, Brent Larsen, Rich Montanez, Victor Quezada, Rosa Rivera, Dwayne Ruth, Troby Siebert, Tom Vu and James Washington. Civilian employees in the project also honored included Michelle Arciaga, Denise Bale, Kim Crockett, Marilyn Felkner and Petrina Samul.

Officers of the Month from May 1997 to March 1998 were also honored. They are: officer Reid Garff, May; officer Lisa Pascadio, June; detective Robin Howell, July; officer Fred Ross, August; officer C.T. Smith, September; officer Shaun Wihongi, October; Sgt. Tim Doubt and officer Melody Gray, November; Dave Hendricks, December; detective Dan Wendleboth, January; detective Brad Burningham, February; and detective Bryan Bailey, March. Non-sworn employees of the month are Denise Atkinson, February; and Jennifer Kibbie-Hiatt.