The Salt Lake County Sheriff's Office honored more than 30 deputies and citizens Monday at the Salt Palace for their contributions to the community last year.

"So many go well beyond what is expected and give selfless service," said Sheriff Aaron D. Kennard. "It takes very little courage only to save oneself. We are engaged in the noblest of professions serving our fellow man."Kennard handed Medal of Distinction awards to Lt. Steve Alexander, who was wounded during a Sept. 22 standoff in Magna; Sgt. Steve Rowland, who responded to the standoff and moved Alexander to a safe position to administer first aid; and Sgt. Jim Potter, who was off-duty but responded to the standoff and coordinated efforts to remove the wounded and trapped deputies.

Also receiving the Medal of Distinction were deputy Paul Nielsen and deputy Troy Carr with his K-9 "Bear," who responded to a June 11 armed burglary where a man threatened to shoot the deputies and the dog. Bear dragged the armed man out from under a vehicle where he was hiding.

The seventh recipient of the Medal of Distinction was Oxbow Jail officer Brent Dietrich, who helped save a man from a burning vehicle Feb. 8.

Sheriff's Star awards were given to Lt. Jay Labrum, who helped arrest a man fleeing in a UTA bus after a Fort Union store robbery; Sgt. Dave Burdett and officer Brad Harmon, who used their gang expertise to investigate a Dimple Dell home invasion that resulted in more than 96 felony charges against 16 suspects; Sgt. Todd Griffiths and his K-9 "Zeus," who helped capture a man wanted for aggravated sexual assault fleeing down a ravine at the mouth of Parley's Canyon; deputy Renee Hanchett, who provided cover for Rowland and Potter while they rescued Alexander; deputy Mike Quintana, who was grazed by ricochet fire during the standoff; and deputy John Mazza, whose quick response helped apprehend a West Valley homicide suspect.

Purple Heart awards, given to officers who are injured or killed in the line of duty, were given to Alexander and Quintana, and to deputy Steve Shroud, who was injured when a suspect intentionally rammed a vehicle into his patrol car.

Labrum was presented the Sheriff's Deputy of the Year Award for promoting team work between the community and law enforcement.

The Sheriff's Correctional Officer of the Year Award went to Officer Milton Dean Adams. Personnel technician Sandy Perkin received the Sheriff's Civilian Employee of the Year Award.

Distinguished Service Medals were presented to deputy Todd Gamble, deputy Brent Weight, officer Julie Peters and officer Bill Morris.

Major Accident Team members Michael Leary, Larry Stratford, Craig Carroll, A.J. Morley and Dave Mortensen received the Distinguished Unit Citation.

Citizen Service Awards were given to Cheston E. Cordova, Grant Larson, Chaplain Brian Robertson, Patti Spencer, Craig R. Sutton, Eric White and Kathy Webb.