Salt Lake County's newest city now has Salt Lake County's newest municipal building authority.

City Council members voted 5-0 Wednesday night to establish a building authority that will allow Taylorsville to make purchases or build municipal facilities that take two years or more to fund.Mayor Janice Auger noted state law normally requires cities and counties to pay for capital projects and acquisitions within a single budget year.

Most governmental subdivisions circumvent that requirement by forming nonprofit corporations called municipal building authorities that are technically independent of cities or counties but are governed by the city councils or county commissions that establish them.

Those authorities can issue certain kinds of bonds, enter into contracts and buy or sell property.

In this case, the Taylorsville City Council will also sit as the Taylorsville Municipal Building Authority board of trustees.

While the practice of forming building authorities is common, Taylorsville's approach was anything but routine.

The council took the unusual step of using the old Taylorsville-Bennion Transition Corp., formed to oversee the incorporation of Taylorsville in 1995, as the shell organization for the new building authority.

Since the transition body is a nonprofit corporation already, city officials avoided having to file new articles of incorporation by approving a resolution that simply revised the old articles.

That revisionary language, which converted the old Taylorsville-Bennion corporation to the new building authority, was then approved by a unanimous vote of the council.