Perhaps this will be the year Bruce Brockbank finally wins a Cougar Classic.

Brockbank, the sixth-year coach at BYU, has yet to lead his team to a Cougar Classic title, despite winning several other titles, including the Western Athletic Conference championship.The Cougars will play host at its annual tournament for the 36th year in a row Tuesday and Wednesday at the Riverside Country Club.

The Cougars have been ranked among the top 15 in the country for much of the year and will be facing a field not quite as formidable as recent years. Stanford and New Mexico, two schools that have won Cougar Classic titles in the past three years, are not entered this year.

Some of the top opponents in the 16-team field will be defending champion UTEP, Colorado State, Kansas and Eastern Washington, which won the Thunderbird tournament in Phoenix last week.

All of the other in-state schools will play, including Utah, Utah State, Weber State, Southern Utah and Utah Valley State College.

The rest of the field includes Hawaii, Wyoming, Boise State, Idaho, Cal State Northridge, and Rollins College.

Last year, the Cougars finished fourth for the second straight year, a whopping 28 strokes behind champion UTEP. The three years before that they were fourth once and second three times.

BYU will be led by sophomores Andy Miller and Jose Garrido, freshman Billy Harvey and senior Michael Henderson.