Mikal Lofgren, a Salt Lake City poet, has received the Pearle M. Olsen Book Publication Award from the Utah State Poetry Society. Lofgren's collection of verse, titled "Trudi Smiles Back," will be published by the society. The book will be available at Lof-gren's public reading in October.

Bill Ruesh placed second for the book award, with Patricia Kimber taking third.Other first place winners in the various categories and competitions were:

James Richards (2), Marilyn Bush Carlton, Theda Bassett, Marilyn Carey, Patricia Grimm, Elaine Christensen (2), Rosalyn Ostler (2), John Sebba, Martha Balph (2), Beverly Ahlstrom, Clarence Socwell (3), Max Freeman (2), Sue Ranglack, Muriel Bywater, Rita Bowles, Joy Young, Karen Keith Gibson, Frank Montieth, Mikal Lofgren, Michael Robinson, Kathryn Clement, Donna Oakeson (2), Geraldine Felt, Kolette Montague, Kevin Cook and Joel Passey.

The Sweepstakes Award went to Clarence Socwell.

For more information about the Utah State Poetry Society and its annual competition, call 467-2935.