Davis County is without a county clerk, and it could be several days before that position is filled by county commissioners.

The resignation of Clerk Michael Allphin was effective May 31.Commission Chairman Harold J. Tippetts said the commissioners have not made the appointment because they have not received a list of recommended replacements from the Davis County Republican Party certified by the party's central committee.

Three names were given to the commissioners earlier by party chairman Steve Smoot, who did not submit the names for formal certification because only three people - the number required under the law - requested consideration.

The committee should meet within the next few days to formally certify the names of Glen E. Saunders, Margene Isom and Jan Ukena. Saunders is a member of the commission and would have to resign that post to take the clerk's job if he is selected. He has said he will not participate in the selection process.

Saunders and Isom are both seeking election to fill the last two years of Allphin's term. They face a September primary contest to determine who will advance to the November ballot against a Democratic challenger. Ukena did not file for election but said she is seriously interested in filling the interim appointment, which will run through the end of this year.

Tippetts said Allphin's chief deputy, Allyson Brown, will act in an interim capacity until the final selection is made.