The decision: The NCAA decided Friday to ban the use of American Indian mascots by sports teams during its postseason tournaments. Schools using American Indian mascots or nicknames would also be barred from hosting NCAA postseason tournaments.

Who's affected: At least 18 schools have mascots the NCAA deems "hostile or abusive," including Florida State's Seminole and Illinois' Illini.

What they're saying: "There's no question that the university and the board of trustees are going to have to look at what the NCAA put out today and make a determination on how it impacts the institution and go from there," Illinois spokesman Tom Hardy said. "Certainly some things remain to be answered from today and one of those things is the definition of what is hostile or abusive."