Mark Jones, Associated Press
Utah sophomore Andrew Bogut speaks to the media after being awarded The Associated Press national player of the year award on Friday in St. Louis.

ST. LOUIS — Andrew Bogut parleyed an international basketball background into an All-American story.

The 7-footer grew up in Australia with a passion for the game nurtured by his parents, both natives of Croatia. The desire to test himself against the best convinced Bogut to attend college in the United States, a stint at Utah that lasted two years and was capped Friday by his selection as The Associated Press player of the year.

Bruce Weber, who led Illinois to its winningest season ever and a berth in the Final Four, was an overwhelming choice as AP's coach of the year.

Standing alongside the latest trophy in a growing collection, Bogut said, "I have been coached by Australian guys, European guys and American guys and they have all helped me so many ways. They all tried to make me a better player."

It worked.

Bogut led Division I with 26 double-doubles in 35 games this season. He was second in rebounding at 12.2 per game and fourth in field goal percentage at 62 percent. He averaged 20.4 points per game (15th in the nation) and 2.3 assists while playing 35 minutes. He was the leading vote-getter on the AP's All-America first team.

The Utes finished 29-6, won the Mountain West Conference regular season title and advanced to the third round of the NCAA tournament before losing to Kentucky.

"He is one of the special, special people I have ever met," first-year Utah coach Ray Giacoletti said. "Basketball needs players, needs people like him."

Bogut announced earlier this week that he would forgo his final two seasons at Utah and apply for the NBA draft. He's expected to be one of the top picks in June and he knows the work has just begun.

"I have to get ready, get stronger for the physical play that I'll see there," Bogut said. "I don't have any plan, like being an all-star in three years or anything like that. I know I want to get better and I'll show people how hungry I am for that."

The 20-year-old Bogut averaged 14.8 points and 8.8 rebounds last summer in Athens for the Australian Olympic team. Just four years earlier he was cut from his state team in Victoria.

"He got really angry when he was cut," his father, Michael Bogut, said. "He said, 'Dad, this is the last time I'm last. Whatever it takes.' "

Bogut received 31 votes for player of the year from the 72-member national media panel that selects the AP's weekly Top 25.

J.J. Redick of Duke was second with 15 votes, and Wayne Simien of Kansas was third with nine.

Bogut is the first player from Utah to win the award and the first from the West since Arizona's Sean Elliott in 1989.

Weber's selection was the result of Illinois most-accomplished season ever. The Illini (36-1), who play Louisville in the national semifinals Saturday, were ranked No. 1 the final 15 weeks of the season, and were unanimous selections six times.

Weber received 54 votes. Mike Krzyzewski of Duke was the runner-up with six, followed by Al Skinner of Boston College (5) and Lorenzo Romar of Washington (4).

AP College Basketball Player of the Year list

2005 — Andrew Bogut, Utah

2004 — Jameer Nelson, Saint Joseph's

2003 — David West, Xavier

2002 — Jason Williams, Duke

2001 — Shane Battier, Duke

2000 — Kenyon Martin, Cincinnati

1999 — Elton Brand, Duke

1998 — Antawn Jamison, North Carolina

1997 — Tim Duncan, Wake Forest

1996 — Marcus Camby, Massachusetts

1995 — Joe Smith, Maryland

1994 — Glenn Robinson, Purdue

1993 — Calbert Cheaney, Indiana

1992 — Christian Laettner, Duke

1991 — Shaquille O'Neal, LSU

1990 — Lionel Simmons, La Salle

1989 — Sean Elliott, Arizona

1988 — Hersey Hawkins, Bradley

1987 — David Robinson, Navy

1986 — Walter Berry, St. John's

1985 — Patrick Ewing, Georgetown

1984 — Michael Jordan, North Carolina

1983 — Ralph Sampson, Virginia

1982 — Ralph Sampson, Virginia

1981 — Ralph Sampson, Virginia

1980 — Mark Aguirre, DePaul

1979 — Larry Bird, Indiana State

1978 — Butch Lee, Marquette

1977 — Marques Johnson, UCLA

1976 — Scott May, Indiana

1975 — David Thompson, N. Carolina St.

1974 — David Thompson, N. Carolina St.

1973 — Bill Walton, UCLA

1972 — Bill Walton, UCLA

1971 — Austin Carr, Notre Dame

1970 — Pete Maravich, Louisiana State

1969 — Lew Alcindor, UCLA

1968 — Elvin Hayes, Houston

1967 — Lew Alcindor, UCLA

1966 — Cazzie Russell, Michigan

1965 — Bill Bradley, Princeton

1964 — Gary Bradds, Ohio State

1963 — Art Heyman, Duke

1962 — Jerry Lucas, Ohio State

1961 — Jerry Lucas, Ohio State

AP Player of the Year


Andrew Bogut, Utah 31

J.J. Redick, Duke 15

Wayne Simien, Kansas 9

Dee Brown, Illinois 5

Hakim Warrick, Syracuse 4