PROVO — Brigham Young University athletes, coaches, teams and administrators were honored at Wednesday night's 2004 Y Awards gala, with former BYU President Merrill J. Bateman receiving the Cougar Club's highest honor — the Dale Rex Memorial Award.

The honor is given annually by the Cougar Club to the individual thought to have contributed the most to amateur athletics in the state of Utah.

Elder Bateman, now a member of the Presidency of the Seventy of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, was cited for key university athletic developments during his seven-year tenure, which included the hiring of a new athletic director, football coach and men's basketball coach.

He was also instrumental in the creation of Miller Park for baseball and softball, the renaming of BYU's Cougar Stadium in honor of retired football coach LaVell Edwards, and gaining approval for the new Indoor Practice Facility and Student Athlete Center.

Thirteen athletes were honored in the evening's ceremonies. Aleisha Rose, the four-time women's soccer All-American, picked up two awards — the Lu Wallace Outstanding Senior Female Athlete Award and the Deseret Book Female Athlete of the Year Award.

Other BYU awards included:

MALE ATHLETE OF THE YEAR: Rafael Araujo, men's basketball.

ED STEIN OUTSTANDING SENIOR MALE ATHLETE: Fernando Pessoa of the top-ranked men's volleyball team.

TEAMS OF THE YEAR: The top-ranked men's volleyball team and the women's soccer team, which advanced to the NCAA's Elite Eight last fall.

COUGAR CLUB MEMORIAL AWARD: Lindsey Metcalf, the track team's All-American high jumper.

DALE McCANN SPIRIT OF SPORT AWARD: Mark Bigelow, men's basketball.

LEONA HOLBROOK SPIRIT OF SPORT AWARD: Sahara Castillo, women's volleyball.

MALE AND FEMALE CROWD PLEASERS: Carlos Moreno, men's volleyball; Brogan Jacobsen, women's gymnastics.

HEAD COACH OF THE YEAR: Brad Cattermole, who led the women's gymnastics team to a school-best No. 6 ranking.

ASSISTANT COACH OF THE YEAR: Defensive football coordinator Bronco Mendenhall.

KIMBALL MEMORIAL AWARD: Football quarterback Todd Mortensen, who for the second straight year won the award given to the two-year letter-winner who has the highest grade-point average.

WALK-ON OF THE YEAR: Women's volleyball player Ulia Crabbe.

ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: Freshman Claire Thomas, who became the youngest player ever to play NCAA women's soccer.

FLOYD JOHNSON SERVICE AWARD: Jeff Hopkinson, cross country and track and field.

PLAY OF THE YEAR: Mike Hall of the men's basketball team for his dunk over an Air Force opponent that also made ESPN's best 10 plays of the day.

VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR: Don and Elaine Davis, the athletic department's first Service Representative couple who helped develop the "12th Team" booster group, which assists fund-raising for the women's programs; and the Athletic Outreach program, which brings Cougar fans outside of Utah to away competitions.