Brigham Young University's Mike Willes has been named player of the year and Gary Pullins was named coach of the year in balloting of WAC head coaches.

BYU, the conference tournament champion, also led the league with four players picked to the all-conference first team.San Diego State pitcher Rob Brown was named the conference's top newcomer in the same balloting.

Brigham Young had Willes, a designated hitter; third baseman Mike Littlewood; second baseman Paul Cluff; and pitcher John DeSilva named to the first honors team.

San Diego State was represented by Brown, outfielder Jeff Barry and shortstop Steve Montejano, while Hawaii was represented by pitcher Dan Kapea and outfielder Steve Morris.

Outfielder Ken Lake was picked from Wyoming, first baseman Mark Frankenberg was picked from Air Force and catcher Grant Smith was picked from Colorado State.

Willes, who set a record 35 home runs in 1988, led WAC batters with a .550 average.

Brown compiled a 9-3 record and led the WAC with a 2.53 ERA for all games. For league games he was 5-0 with a 2.15 ERA.