The Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association is the latest group to honor Peter Jackson, naming him the best director of 2003 and choosing "The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King" as the year's best film.

Jackson also has been nominated for Golden Globe and Directors Guild of America awards, and has received kudos from the Southeastern Film Critics Association.

Sean Penn is the Dallas-Fort Worth critics' choice for best actor for "Mystic River" and Charlize Theron won for best actress for "Monster."

In the supporting acting categories, the group honored Alec Baldwin for "The Cooler" and Renee Zellweger for "Cold Mountain."