The Salt Lake City School District's Bonneville Elementary and the Davis School District's J.A. Taylor Elementary are among 287 elementary schools nationally to be singled out for excellence in the 1987-88 Elementary School Recognition Program conducted by the U.S. Department of Education.

Bonneville principal Shauna Carl and J.A. Taylor principal Jean Madsen will be invited to attend ceremonies next October in Washington, D.C., where they will receive a flag of excellence from Education Secretary William J. Bennett.