Jazz center Mark Eaton and forward Karl Malone were selected to the NBA's All-Defensive second team in voting at each position by the league's head coaches.

Houston's Akeem Olajuwon was the first-team center with 11 first-place votes and Eaton (five) tied with New York's Patrick Ewing for second after leading the league in blocked shots for the fourth time in five years. Malone received three first-place votes and joined New Jersey's Buck Williams as second-team forwards behind Boston's Kevin McHale and Houston's Rodney McCray.The first-team guards are the L.A. Lakers' Michael Cooper and Chicago's Michael Jordan, followed by San Antonio's Alvin Robertson and Denver's Fat Lever. The rest of the official NBA awards are selected by an 80-member media panel.

- Kurt Kragthorpe