The Governor's Medal for Science and Technology was presented Thursday night to eight individuals with five or more years of distinguished service to the state.

Gov. Norm Bangerter presented awards at Little America Hotel to the recipients, selected by a panel from the State Advisory Council on Science and Technology, for their work in physical science, life science, mathematics and engineering.Featured speaker was James C. Fletcher, former director of the NASA and now a member of the University of Utah's Solid-State Fusion Advisory Board.

Fletcher and two representatives of the Math/Science Network were given recognition certificates.

The eight recipients:

-James W. Cronin, who won the Nobel Prize for physics in 1980. A University of Utah professor, Cronin has devoted much of his research to weak force. He discovered the CP symmetry rule violation by the neutral K-mesons, with results modifying the fundamental laws of nature.

-Doran J. Baker, a Utah State University professor and an international authority on electromagnetics, infrared engineering and many phases of atmospheric science. The state council said Baker and his colleagues have made significant contributions to many scientific fields and to national defense through use of innovative infrared measurement systems.

-Dean F. Peterson Jr., who was credited for helping USU become a premier research university. Peterson helped create the Utah Water Research Laboratory and led establishment of a space-research center at USU, where he was the second vice president for research and was instrumental in developing the current research program.

-Pamela P. Giles, a Brighton High School mathematics teacher who spearheaded development of an experimental math class that makes extensive use of calculators and computers in teaching advanced algebra and trigonometry. She was president of the Utah Council of Teachers of Mathematics and was named by her Brighton colleagues as "Teacher of the Year."

-Gerald B. Lord, who has received numerous career incentive awards as science teacher for the past 23 years at at Granger High School. He has been recognized for his use of computers in science teaching and ACT (American College Tests) tutoring. Westinghouse Corp. honored him for meritorious work with science students in 1986.

-Aaron V. Farr, director of electronic research and development at Jetway Systems, an Ogden-based engineering firm. The council said he developed and produced unique technological power systems that convert utility power to clean, aircraft-acceptable 400 Hz power for operating aircraft on the ground.

-Robert A. Schumacker, who during his 16 years at Evans & Sutherland Computer Corp. has led technology and product development. In 1988, $82 million of Evans and Sutherland's sales resulted from products developed under Schumacker's leadership. The state council said Schumacker's recruiting, training and inspired leadership have ensured continued success of the company.

-Ronald K. Bell, director of advanced technology for the Unisys Network Computing Group, Salt Lake City. He was chairman of the state's Supercollider Task Force and taught microprocessor design classes at the U. and California Institute of Technology. Earlier this year he received the Unisys Fellow Award for "outstanding technical contribution."

Ann Erickson, the creator, and Katherine Brown, president of the Math/Science Network, were presented a certificate. The organization is designed to educate and motivate young girls to pursue math and science training. The network also provides a support structure for and an avenue by which professional women can share interests.