Barbara McFarlane, executive secretary in the University of Utah College of Law, has been presented the institution's first Lillian Ence Award of Excellence, officials said Tuesday.

The award was presented during a half-day series of workshops, sponsored by the Career Development for University Secretaries Committee, designed to promote professionalism among secretaries.The Ence award will be given annually to recognize the highest order of professional skills, general contributions to the excellence of the university, and community involvement, said Susan Turpin, committee chairwoman.

McFarlane is secretary to five faculty members within the law school, where she was a leader in implementing computerization. She also serves on the Personnel Relations Committee and is secretary to the Academic Freedom and Tenure Committee.

"She is particularly valuable to the law school administration because her level of performance sets the standard for others on the staff," said associate dean Jon F. Harper.

The late Lillian Ence, for whom the award is named, was secretary to three University presidents - James C. Fletcher, Alfred C. Emery and David P. Gardner. Her effect was so great in this position that her portrait hangs alongside that of U. presidents and major scholars.